One of the world’s largest cities, New York is made up of five boroughs – an incorporated municipality that is smaller than a city. Collectively, the city is known as the Five Boroughs. Most politicians in the city use the term so as to place all the five boroughs in New York on equal footing. These New York City boroughs are Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, The Bronx, and Staten Island.


Of the five boroughs, Manhattan is the most densely populated as well as the oldest. It lies primarily at Hudson River’s Mouth, on Manhattan Island.  The borough is a major financial, commercial, and cultural center not just in the U.S. but the whole world as well, making it also the most famous of New York’s five boroughs.

Among the attractions of the borough are its landmarks, museums, and universities. It is here where the United Nations Headquarters is found. The heart of the city’s metropolitan region, Manhattan hosts the seat of the city government.


With over 2 million residents, Brooklyn is the most populated borough of New York. Next to Manhattan, it is the city’s second largest area. The borough is famous for its beautiful parks and other attractions which include the 585-acre Prospect Park, the magnificent Brooklyn Botanic Gardens, and the unique Jamaica Bay Wildlife Refuge.


Located on the easternmost part of the city, Queens is home to two of the city’s three major airports, the LaGuardia Airport and the JFK International Airport. The borough was founded in 1683 as one of New York’s original 12 counties. Of the five boroughs of New York, Queens is considered to be one with the more suburban setting.

The Bronx

The Bronx, also referred to as Bronx County, is the last to be incorporated of New York State’s 62 counties. It is situated north of Queens and Manhattan, and on southern side of the Westchester County. The borough is known to have one of the five poorest U.S. Congressional Districts, which makes the borough’s image not as great as that of Manhattan and Brooklyn.

Staten Island

Staten Island lies in New York City’s southwest side. The Kill Van Kull and the Arthur Kill separates it from New Jersey. It is used to be called as the Borough of Richmond until 1975, and often referred to as the “forgotten borough” as many of its over 400,000 inhabitants feel neglected by the government of the city.